Profile Picture

A Pirate's Last Song

Posted By CoryWilliams 3 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
CoryWilliams
Posted 3 Years Ago
View Quick Profile

Senior Member (290 reputation)Senior Member (290 reputation)Senior Member (290 reputation)Senior Member (290 reputation)Senior Member (290 reputation)Senior Member (290 reputation)Senior Member (290 reputation)Senior Member (290 reputation)Senior Member (290 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: Last Year
Hey everyone!  This is my first time posting here in the forums.  To be honest, I had no idea there were forums until I read over the contest stuff again.  This is cool!  I haven't been a part of a forum since 2005 I think.  Anyway, here's my entry for the contest.  It took me about 12 hours from start to finish.

A Pirate's Last Song
https://forum.reallusion.com/uploads/images/49b50894-f413-45ba-9e7d-4a30.jpg

Here's the workflow I used for the project:

- I wrote a song that would fit within the 30 second time frame then performed it using Propellerhead Reason.
- Created the character in CC3 while keeping in mind the type of faces he'd need to make.
- Imported the model into iClone 7 with a very basic lighting setup with 2 planes to simulate the beach environment.
- Imported the song and used AccuLips to sync it up with the mouth.
- Adjusted the mouth shapes to give the character some funny quirks like the raised left upper lip and jaw shift when saying "Eeee".
- Used Motion Live to capture the facial expressions and head movements with my iPhone.
- Adjusted the motion capture data for smoothness and accuracy
- Added a few more quirks to the facial expressions like the wide eye vs squinted eye and some extra nose flares and eyebrow lifts.
- Set up a basic ocean scene in Unreal Engine using Megascans and a few other custom made props.
- Imported my CC3 character into Unreal Engine using the iClone Auto Setup plugin.
- Imported the animation I created in iClone.