iClone for Book Trailers

Posted By 3DChick 5 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
3DChick
Posted 5 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Distinguished Member

Distinguished Member (2.0K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.0K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.0K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.0K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.0K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.0K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.0K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.0K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.0K reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: Last Month
Hi all,
I'm new, only been using iClone since April. I decided to invest in it to make book trailers for my books and (eventually) others'. I've been using Daz for about 5 years, both 3Delight and Iray, and have animated in it, but it takes soooooo long to render, it was very frustrating. I LOVE the real-time render engine in iClone, and all other fun tools, most of which I have no idea how to use yet... 

One of the challenges for me is to make my iClone animated characters look as much like their Daz counterparts as possible (the book covers are done with Daz and Affinity Photo), which, thanks mostly to Kelleytoons, I'm figuring out how to do. There are some great tools in CC3, too, that help make up for losing some of the high-def morphs I'm used to in Daz, so my guys and gals are looking pretty darn close. 

Now I just need to get better at actual animation, at camera work, at lighting in iClone, AND learn how to write actual trailers, what should be in them, and how best to express what a reader will get out of a book. It's storytelling, but like writing a book description, it's harder than writing the novel!

I am not sure how to set up a YouTube channel for these yet, between my cover business and two fiction pennames, so I've defaulted back to my own site for serving up the animations: Tynan Arrives on the Bridge. I guess I'll need to figure out the YouTube thing if I'm going to post in here very often.