Posted By candlelight2007 6 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!

Creating a new character off of the existing one with a custom look

Author
candlelight2007
Posted 6 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Distinguished Member

Distinguished Member (1.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.8K reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 3 Years Ago

I have used RL products before but I am a complete newbie in CT Animator. And this is a complete newbie’s question as I’m playing with the trial trying to decide whether CTA will fit the bill or not. I understand that this question may have been answered before and if so, a link to the post would be greatly appreciated.

I understand that CTA has the ability to create new characters off of the existing ones and when doing so one can apply their custom looks to the existing motions of the original character, etc.

I have a very specific task. I have a cat character, sorta like a mascot that will be appearing in a number of short instructional videos. I know there are a couple of cat characters in CT that I’d like to base my character off of but I’m not exactly sure how to go about it and how easy (or not) it is.

Is there a specific workflow that exists, that someone can outline as 1,2,3… steps or perhaps an instructional video?

And a related question. I understand that one has to have images created for all the body parts that the original character does. All tutorials seem to mention creating those using PSD. I don’t have PS. Is this the only option or can those be created in another graphic editor?

Peter (RL)
Peter (RL)
Posted 6 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Distinguished Member