Blender model to iclone via 3DXchange problems

https://forum.reallusion.com/Topic469332.aspx
Print Topic | Close Window

By bulma_saur - 3 Years Ago
Dear Reallusion users, I wish you all a happy new year!

I am new to Reallusion products, and have been assigned to learn and get into 3D animation. However, I have been seriously stuck to one issue: I can't seem to properly import fbx files into iClone via 3DXchange. 

Some blender files have been sent to me, of  textured and rigged models (rigged with human metarig). I keep export them to .fbx files (trying many different settings), and here's what I get:

- Originally, 3DXchange would show an import file error (3DXchange may not support this file format), or takes forever to load and eventually stops responding. Then, the person modeling the original .blend files and I make several changes in order to see what might be causing the problem, but we haven't figured it out.
- When I did manage an import, the bones were too many (for example, 4 bones on one leg) and no matter how I mapped them, It didn't work right (the result was rather spooky, actually!)
- I then tried a human metarig with weight paint, instead of generated, and that seemed to work fine, except for the face. It was a test, so I didn't adjust the face bones with much attention, but could it also be something about the modeling process in Blender?
- Materials sometimes don't show, and I don't know how to get textures to work.
- After all this trouble, I tried exporting CC3 bases to blender (tried with DAZ genesis characters too) in order to edit and reimport them, but I couldn't make that work either. I haven't tried that in a while, so I'm not sure what to say about this, but it still interests me, so if you have any good walkthroughs on that, they're most welcome!
- I have also tried downloading free 3D stuff in fbx and blend files, but they either change on 3DXchange, and the materials and texture problems persist.