Wrestling with the Snake - My Experiments with Python

https://forum.reallusion.com/Topic400721.aspx
Print Topic | Close Window

By Kelleytoons - 5 Years Ago
I thought I would start a thread where I'll post my video python tutorials/explanations (they aren't *exactly* instructional, but more the reasoning and process behind my experiments) in iClone.  If nothing more these very short looks might tell people what can and can't be done, or at least give you your own ideas on doing things (and you can easily ignore this entire thread if you like without feeling you are missing something important).

Also, don't look for any UI tips/tricks here -- I couldn't care less about UI (when I was team lead I specifically got folks who were good at that -- I'm a systems programmer and kind of hate UI).  While I might end up having some scripts useful for others, for the most part this is going to be focused on me doing things *I* need to do (again, it might be inspirational or not as the case may be).

To start with I'm going to show my efforts to control rotations of props, for my Robby the Robot character.

By nlprod1 - 5 Years Ago
Although I don't understand a stitch of programming I think that this open programming functionality will benefit many of you skilled cats. Nice to see it being utilized,  thanks for sharing!
Hopefully those of us who do program will generate scripts that will be of use to those who don't -- this very small script, for example, could be used to rotate almost any prop over the course of your animation clip, so if you had radar antenna, or anything that needed regular rotations you could easily adapt this.  But other, more comprehensive and useful scripts will be coming, particular on the second patch (there are a LOT of things we need to be exposed in the API).
By sonic7 - 5 Years Ago