Profile Picture

Simple walking back and forth animation

Posted By aaron_vfx 2 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
aaron_vfx
Posted 2 Years Ago
View Quick Profile

Senior Member (372 reputation)Senior Member (372 reputation)Senior Member (372 reputation)Senior Member (372 reputation)Senior Member (372 reputation)Senior Member (372 reputation)Senior Member (372 reputation)Senior Member (372 reputation)Senior Member (372 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: Last Year
Hi,

I am new to iClone, and I am finding it very difficult to have a character just walk back and forth, think of it as a guard walking back and forth along a corridor, so the floor space is tight, so he has to turn on the spot, and I want the character to get to the end of his patrol point, turn 180 degrees and walk back where he came from, and repeat.

I'm trying to do this with mocap motions purchased from Actorcore, but it seems very very hard to get the character to turn and look natural, and there doesn't seem to be any turn mocap animations, there's three from what I could see, but I don't want my character holding a gun. I assumed that this could be done nicely via iclone? 

I've watched the tutorials over and over regarding the motion correction and directional motion, but in those the character is not turning that much at all, so they obviously work well.

The motion direction seems to make my characters legs go a crazy, or he turns so slowly that everything just looks bizarre.

Am I missing something with how to make something that to me seems quite simple to do, but I am not getting nice results.

It seems to me that I need more mocap information to get this to look good, but I don't have a suit, I'm not an animator and there doesn't seem to be what I'm looking for on the Actorcore site?