Profile Picture

I want to make a character in CC3 with optimized materials/mesh, animate it in iClone, and use it in...

Posted By sshoro.art 3 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!

I want to make a character in CC3 with optimized materials/mesh,...

Author
sshoro.art
Posted 3 Years Ago
View Quick Profile

Junior Member (125 reputation)Junior Member (125 reputation)Junior Member (125 reputation)Junior Member (125 reputation)Junior Member (125 reputation)Junior Member (125 reputation)Junior Member (125 reputation)Junior Member (125 reputation)Junior Member (125 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 3 Years Ago
Hi all,

I am new to Character Creator 3 and loving it so far, but I am a bit confused about the pipeline.

I made a character in CC3.  I was hoping to 1.) merge the character's materials and reduce polys, 2.) send it to iClone, which I will use to create animations for the character (lip syncs and mocap animations), and finally, 3.) import the character and its animations into Unity.

I think I must be misunderstanding the pipeline somewhere, because it does not seem like you can merge the materials before sending it to iClone.  I can only see that I can merge the materials before exporting to FBX.  Does that mean that I have to merge the materials, export as FBX, then use 3DXchange to remap the bones and ultimately get the character into iClone?  How can I do this in a way that preserves the mouth and facial morphs?  I'd like to merge the materials to save space, but I do need this character to be able to have talking animations and different facial expressions.

I am also seeing that CC3 has motions in it but I'm unable to find much on the subject...  Perhaps I should create the animations in iClone first, and then send them to CC3 before exporting them with my optimized character?  How can I do that?

Thank you in advance for any help!
3DChick
3DChick
Posted 3 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Distinguished Member