Profile Picture

Can I export blend shapes to Maya?

Posted By ece3k 4 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
ece3k
Posted 4 Years Ago
View Quick Profile

Senior Member (311 reputation)Senior Member (311 reputation)Senior Member (311 reputation)Senior Member (311 reputation)Senior Member (311 reputation)Senior Member (311 reputation)Senior Member (311 reputation)Senior Member (311 reputation)Senior Member (311 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 4 Years Ago
Hello,
  I am new to CC3 and wanted to export to MAYA a character with bones and blendshapes.  Whenever I export fbx I get no mesh, and when I export obj, I seem to have no blend shapes.  But I see those sliders in CC3.  How do I get those into maya?
Thanks,
Erik.  
Peter (RL)
Peter (RL)
Posted 4 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Distinguished Member

Distinguished Member (115.7K reputation)Distinguished Member (115.7K reputation)Distinguished Member (115.7K reputation)Distinguished Member (115.7K reputation)Distinguished Member (115.7K reputation)Distinguished Member (115.7K reputation)Distinguished Member (115.7K reputation)Distinguished Member (115.7K reputation)Distinguished Member (115.7K reputation)

Group: Administrators
Last Active: Yesterday
Hi Erik

I'm a little puzzled what you mean by you have no mesh when you export to FBX. Are you choosing the Maya preset on the export panel in CC3?. If so this should work fine in Maya (it does for me).

Please Note: OBJ only contains the mesh. You won't have the bone rig so you must export to FBX if you want to animate your character.

If you continue to have problems, please posts a screenshot of the FBX Export panel in CC3 and also a screenshot showing the character open in Maya. Thanks.

Peter
Forum Administrator

www.reallusion.com

ece3k
ece3k
Posted 4 Years Ago
View Quick Profile