Profile Picture

3dxchange and sketchup - how do I standardize polycount, scale for multiple meshes?

Posted By particleboy 14 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!

3dxchange and sketchup - how do I standardize polycount, scale for...

Author
particleboy
Posted 14 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Distinguished Member

Distinguished Member (1.1K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.1K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.1K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.1K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.1K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.1K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.1K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.1K reputation)Distinguished Member (1.1K reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 11 Years Ago
Only had iclone for a couple of weeks, loving it, this community is great, all good.

First I create a large landscape in EarthSculptor by starting with a default 513^2 map. When I export the map I scale it by a factor of 50. I am still learning the export parameters for EarthSculptor.

I import the prop into iclone4 and it is very large and extends way beyond the default groundplane mesh. It is also very high in the sky. I do a -Z transform to move it closer to the default groundplane mesh. This is OK for my needs so far.

Then I download many meshes from 3d warehouse. Then I import them into 3dxchange and export them as .vns format. I am using the default settings for the 3dxchange export to .vns

Then I import the first prop into iclone4. I position it on my EarthSculptor terrain.

I create a new camera and move to the front of the first mesh/prop.

Then I repeat the process for another 3d warehouse mesh.

The second prop imports as a huge thing. It takes up so much memory that it crashes iclone4. Or it is so far away from my first mesh and front camera1 view I have to go looking for it. I spend many hours looking for import mesh number two Smile