Ethnicity Face Morphs with CC3 and iPhone X

Posted By brent_114049 6 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
brent_114049
Posted 6 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Veteran Member

Veteran Member (621 reputation)Veteran Member (621 reputation)Veteran Member (621 reputation)Veteran Member (621 reputation)Veteran Member (621 reputation)Veteran Member (621 reputation)Veteran Member (621 reputation)Veteran Member (621 reputation)Veteran Member (621 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 4 Years Ago
I'm new to Character Creator but have bought the Pipeline version of CC3 and iClone and have a new iPhone XS. I've seen some apps like Scandy and Bellus 3D that allow me to use the iPhone's 3D scanning functionality (i.e. Face ID) to quickly create a pretty nice 3D model of my face, including textures. I wonder if anyone has used this to create a realistic character of themselves or friends/family.  Even better yet I'd love to create a morph slider of a scanned face. Not only would it be cool to be able to create an avatar of me to use in my Unity games, but I could envision creating a library of morph sliders of various realistic people of different ethnicities like "Japanese Woman 1, 2, 3..." and "African Man 1, 2, 3..." 

Any ideas on the simplest workflow one might use to accomplish that goal?  I'm trying to avoid having to do something like move a standard character to z-brush and creating the morphs there - that requires significant artistic skill.  I'm looking for something a non-artist can pull off by 3D scanning.  One issue is that most of the scans the iPhone apps create are not perfect, e.g. it is just the face but the top and back of the head might be missing. The other issue is how to map the topology of the standard CC3 character bases to the scanned faces.

Thanks in advance for any insights you can share!
Kelleytoons
Kelleytoons
Posted 6 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Distinguished Member