Is Faceware for me?

Posted By The-any-Key 6 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
The-any-Key
Posted 6 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Distinguished Member

Distinguished Member (2.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.8K reputation)Distinguished Member (2.8K reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 2 Weeks Ago
I am creating a game that will need a lot of face animations. It will mostly be a monologue from a NPC to the player in a scene in 3D and 2D.
As a programmer I got limited skill on the animation parts, so I figure, why not have my own face recorded and use it for the face animation in the game.
I bought Crazytalk to just get a feel about the face animation process. The auto lip sync was not that good, when you try read lips. With some manual work it got better. And I just continued to go over the lips in the timeline and I could get the quality I was after. I notice I missed some sounds like y, ue... (o and u is not the same) Can I add those myself somehow? So they appear in the lip editor?

The next step is to test the Faceware plugin for iClone. I spend some time on the forum and notice problems with licence, camera not record at 60fps and lag.
So here comes some questions:
1# Can you use Faceware plugin for iClone and record face motion in real-time but without a real-time 3D figure, ex using a wireframe figure instead (to save CPU and GPU for the camera to use instead)?
2# Can I export this motion as motion clips to Crazytalk8 pipeline or CTA?
3# Can I manually edit the face motion and lips in iClone?
4# Can I export a motion clip from Crazytalk8 to iClone or CTA?
5# I plan to make some face animations and export it to 2D. Is Crazytalk Animator able to use motions from iClone Faceware?