Profile Picture

Getting started with iClone - what do I need?

Posted By jrm21 9 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
jrm21
Posted 9 Years Ago
View Quick Profile

Senior Member (287 reputation)Senior Member (287 reputation)Senior Member (287 reputation)Senior Member (287 reputation)Senior Member (287 reputation)Senior Member (287 reputation)Senior Member (287 reputation)Senior Member (287 reputation)Senior Member (287 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 8 Years Ago
I have seen some similar topics, but haven't seen some of my questions answered - though a new topic would be appropriate.

First off - hello. Brand new here. Looking at iClone 6 and think it might suit my needs. I have been playing with Carrara on and off for several years. My main desire is to make short animations. I am not really a modeler - I prefer "pre-made" content. I have a decent library of DAZ figures and props. From what I see, iClone may be better suited as an animation tool.

Question 1 is what software package do I need? It looks like iClone Pro + 3DXchange bundle might do it. Pipeline looks like a need only if I wanted to export everything back to Carrara. I am hoping that the iClone renderer is all I would need, and could simply render my video out from there.

3DXchange looks like it has everything needed to bring my DAZ library over to iClone. I have seen tutorials for figures such as "Genesis" people. What about other props - clothing, building, vehicles, scenery elements? What about animals - horse, dog, etc? Can these all be transferred to iClone and then animated? Do the textures translate as well?

I have been pretty happy with the render engine in Carrara. Can similar results be achieved in iClone? How is render speed for animations?