Profile Picture

Creating human movement studies

Posted By DrThomATP 10 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
DrThomATP
Posted 10 Years Ago
View Quick Profile

Junior Member (234 reputation)Junior Member (234 reputation)Junior Member (234 reputation)Junior Member (234 reputation)Junior Member (234 reputation)Junior Member (234 reputation)Junior Member (234 reputation)Junior Member (234 reputation)Junior Member (234 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 9 Years Ago
im an engineering professor who is looking to help my students develop a system where they could measure specific human body parts and have those figures transfer to a model. Ideally the model could then move and indicate points of stress. This may be something that can be done using a Realillusion product, or possibly it is something that someone who is more familiar with human animation could refer me to an appropriate program for my needs.

We are working with a research lab in the University that does movement and fitting of artificial limbs, and movement studies with live motion capture. We have been asked to develop a tool that measures limb circumference at a series of locations, and also can apply a pressured squeeze at that location to determine how much 2 or 4 pounds of pressure changes the circumference. This is used in a number of different ways from a clinical standpoint, from determining fluid retention, muscle mass, and specifically for this project, the firmess of the risidual limb after amputation for the fitting of an artificial limb.