Profile Picture

help minimizing file to save on a dvd

Posted By pennyriver 10 Years Ago
You don't have permission to rate!
Author
pennyriver
Posted 10 Years Ago
View Quick Profile

Junior Member (185 reputation)Junior Member (185 reputation)Junior Member (185 reputation)Junior Member (185 reputation)Junior Member (185 reputation)Junior Member (185 reputation)Junior Member (185 reputation)Junior Member (185 reputation)Junior Member (185 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 10 Years Ago
Hello, I am a student trying to enter a contest with a 3d animation. My file is about 17 gigs. How do I save it with a smaller size? It must be presented on a dvd.

thank you
planetstardragon
planetstardragon
Posted 10 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Distinguished Member

Distinguished Member (23.2K reputation)Distinguished Member (23.2K reputation)Distinguished Member (23.2K reputation)Distinguished Member (23.2K reputation)Distinguished Member (23.2K reputation)Distinguished Member (23.2K reputation)Distinguished Member (23.2K reputation)Distinguished Member (23.2K reputation)Distinguished Member (23.2K reputation)

Last Active: 2 Weeks Ago
Hi Pennyriver,

Firstly, welcome to the forum!! BigGrin

2nd - 17 gigs is a raw file size, uncompressed. this format is usually used for production purposes as it is one of the best possible qualities, 2nd to only individual frame rendering where you print each image individually and assemble it into a movie. It's not practical as a format to give to others because of it's huge size.....usually internal use only type stuff.

What you have to do is compress / convert the file to a popular codec , such as mp4, wmv, mpg or avi

you can use a free convertor such as this one http://www.any-video-converter.com/download-avc-free.php